An Ignorant’s Perspective: The FIFA World Cup

The FIFA World Cup finals game 2010 was the first football match I’ve watched ever.

Yaya and I couldn’t sleep last night, so we ended up turning the TV on and watching the “most popular sporting event in the world.” However, the Filipinos just aren’t hooked to football that much. Needless to say, the Philippines is a basketball country (and also a boxing nation!), and although Spain colonized us for three centuries, we never really got to associate ourselves with football!

Insomnia was what led me to watch the game between Spain and Netherlands, and although I got a bit sleepy in the middle of the game, I told myself I’d stay up to watch til the end. I didn’t know the technical rules of the game, so I was more intrigued when the two teams couldn’t make goals! I wondered what would happen if no one scored a single goal, would the game go on and on and on until one team finally scores?

And when Andres Iniesta finally (FINAAALLLYYY!) made it, I almost wanted to scream and shout. But it was 5 in the morning here in the Philippines and it wouldn’t be appropriate to go around screaming like crazy when your neighbors are still on their beds dreaming.

Yaya and I are not football fans, nonetheless, we enjoyed watching the game. Cracking up sometimes when we hear Xavi’s name, because at first we thought it was “chubby” or something like that. lol. We also marveled at the amazing cameras that perfectly captured the game, the precision, the way the motions played out on our small TV screen was just breathtaking. I also imagined myself touching the grass because it looked so soft haha! This was, apparently, how a noob, a football ignorant, reacted to FIFA.

It was actually something fresh for me. I wasn’t rooting for any team, last night (or morning) I just hoped for a goal because, yea, that would be amazing in the world cup finals! šŸ˜€

You know what they say, it pays to wait!

4 thoughts on “An Ignorant’s Perspective: The FIFA World Cup

  1. Football is beautiful, would you agree madame? People associate a good sport with high scoring; that shouldn’t be the case. Once you know the intricacies of the game, you can relate to the “Ooohs” and “Aaaarghs!!!” of the fans. There’s always a guy or two willing to teach football in UP or Ateneo. šŸ™‚

    1. Yes, I’d agree to that. I enjoyed the game a lot, given that I am not one who loves sports and that the game was played during the middle of the night! šŸ™‚ In the next FIFA seasons, I will probably be tuning in! šŸ™‚

Leave a comment